March Wrap-Up

In like a lion, out like a smaller lion. For March, I stayed fairly on track, reading four books this month, and March’s unintentional reading theme was all about magic. Akata Witch is part of my catch-up-on-past-ARCs to read list, and The Witch’s Heart kind of became that too, since it was actually published in February. And then of course I have finally plunged into the Grishaverse, thanks to literally everyone talking about it and the new Netflix show.

Book cover for Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

First up, I finished Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor. Despite Lagoon and Who Fears Death sitting on my bookshelf for a length of time I’m not ready to own up to, Akata Witch is the first book I’ve read by Okorafor, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I adored Sunny as a heroine. The layers of contrasts and duality, light vs. dark skin, American vs. Nigerian (Igbo and Efik) identities, and the magical vs. non-magical worlds, these all intersect and then harmonize in Sunny. While the threat of Black Hat Otokoto is certainly the catalyst for the novel’s climax, the story is much more about Sunny, finding her place in the world and coming into her own. Reading Fast Facts for Free Agents, discovering her spirit face, chittim raining down as she learns juju, playing soccer in the sun (and beating the boys!), all made Sunny lovable and endearing, though not perfect. She also breaks rules, some small and some big enough to truly be admonished for.  Sunny’s story of discovery, bright-eyed curiosity, creating bonds of friendship, and finding her place in Leopard society, grounded in roots of Nigerian magic and folklore, made Akata Witch a wonderful read, and one I would say is not to missed in YA fantasy.

book cover for The Witch's Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

Continuing a bit of a witchy theme, I read The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec, an intimate imagining of Norse mythology surrounding the mother of monsters Angrboda. Finding herself alone and alive after her third death at Odin’s hands, Angrboda settles into a new home, a new life, and new relationships with Loki, Skadi, and Gerd. The story is a slow burn, focusing on the gradual growth and development of Angrboda in her new incarnation, her bond with Skadi, and her intimate relationship with Loki and later their three children Hel, Fenrir, and Jormungand. As time moves on, the myths and legends of the Norse gods happening in the background (related only through Loki’s visits), fate begins to press in and around Angrboda, becoming less and less escapable. It’s a heart-aching kind of story, but much more for the portrayal of motherhood and her relationship with her children than anything else. In fact, I was not keen on Loki to begin with, and that just decreased as the book progressed. Instead, Angrboda and Skadi are far more intriguing. These are messy, complex people, heroes or mythological figures brought down to as human a level as possible, and all the more tragic and compelling for it.

book cover for Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Book cover of Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

And since I’m only years behind, I read Shadow and Bone and Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo in a mad-dash attempt to get ready for watching the new Netflix show.  For quite a while I thought I had read the first bit of Shadow and Bone but not really liked it at the time. When I watched the trailer, though, I was rather confused, and then quickly realized I had conflated Shadow and Bone with Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. So, whoops. I’ve previously read atmospheric dark academia Ninth House, but have entirely escaped the Grishaverse until now, barrelling through the first two books. Bardugo keeps a fast but balanced pace as Alina comes into her power and swept up in the world of the Grisha and the Dark One’s reign. I have very skeptical thoughts where this is all going, especially the relationship between Alina and the Dark One, and really feel like I just need to go ahead and finish Ruin and Rising. I can see why these are popular, and I do find them entertaining, like a popcorn kind of read. I’ll watch the show, finish the series, get to Six of Crows at some point, and then I’m sure I’ll have more thoughts. Or maybe just burn myself out on this YA binge read. 

Which leads nicely to my April reading goals.

April Reading Goals

  • Sorrowland by Rivers Solomon
  • Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
  • White Stag by Kara Barbieri

Leave a comment